The Indian Biophysical Society is the primary association of biophysicists in India. In existence since 1965, it serves as a forum to promote scientific exchanges in the area of Biophysics in India.  Moreover,  it advocates the cause of Biophysics in the country, and  provide expert advice for biophysics teaching in various parts of the country.

To brief on the historical evolution of this body, the first IBS Executive Council (EC) comprised of Dr. D. M. Bose as its first President, N. N. Dasgupta and B. Mukherjee as Vice-Presidents, N. N. Saha as the Secretary, B. D. Nagchaudhuri as the Treasurer, and A. K. Saha, M. N. Rao and S. N. Chatterjee as Members of the Council. 

 Its main activity is to organize the annual Indian Biophysical Society meeting, in the spring of every year, in different locations in India. It also provides awards and travel fellowships to deserving scientists and students and helps smaller groups of biophysicists in organizing seminars on special topics.